Friday, January 20, 2006

Different types of vegetarian

Different types of vegetarianWhat you can eat depends on what type of Vegetarian you are. The main types are listed below. Some people call themselves Veggie's if they eat fish, but this is not the case, as you can see below. If Vegetarians do eat eggs, they usually use free-range eggs. Those that eat cheese will only eat Vegetarian Cheese, as some cheeses are made using rennet from a cow's stomach. More and more cheeses are using a Vegetarian alternative to this. We have worked on a comparison table that you can use to help decide which type of vegetarian you are or desire to be.

Octo-Lacto Vegetarian (The most popular definition, also known as Ovo-Lacto)

Vegetarians eat no red meat, poultry, fish, or products that have ingredients which are animal-based such as Gelatin. They do eat Vegetarian cheese, yoghurt, milk, eggs, honey etc. They also don't wear leather or fur.

Lacto Vegetarian

Lactose-Vegetarians do not eat any foods that involve the slaughter of animals. They don't eat eggs, but do eat Vegetarian cheese, yoghurt, and milk.


Vegans do not eat the same things as vegetarians but also will not eat any product that is derived from animals. No meat, cheese, butter, milk, eggs or honey.

Demi-Vegetarian (commonly misinterpreted as Vegetarian by meat-eaters)

Demi-Vegetarians don't eat red meat or poultry, but they do eat fish, eggs, Vegetarian cheese, and milk-based products. This is not true Vegetarianism, although it is probably easiest for those just starting to become Veggie.


A Fruitarian is somebody who believes that you should not kill any living thing to survive. Instead, they can only eat the fruit of plants that don't actually mean death to the plant. This is actually true believe it or not!

Source : Vegetarian Centre

delicious furl Yahoo My Web Google Bookmark Blinklist Blogmark Simpy Shadow Netvouz Reddit